Sport

Torres: Less talk, more action?

Through following Guillem Balague on Twitter, I came across a statement from Fernando Torres with regards to his future at Chelsea FC which made me think. As we all know, he was transferred from Liverpool for a £50m fee, and was supposed to be Chelsea’s new super striker. At the time, he stated: ‘The target for every footballer is to play at one of the top level clubs in the world, and I can do that now, so I am very very happy”. So his motives were to move to a ‘top level’ club in order to play in Europe against the best teams in the world. On Saturday evening, Chelsea won the Champions League, beating Bayern Munich on penalties, and Torres got the winner’s medal he was looking for.

Slight problem. Torres didn’t actually feature in the starting line up for the game, and instead came on as a substitute. He made the statement I am referring to after the game. Here are some of his comments: “It’s contradictory because I feel I’m at a peak moment in my career, with more desire and hunger than I’ve felt in a long time but I’ve had to spend the final on the bench. It was a huge disappointment when I saw the line-up, perhaps the biggest in my life.”

“This season I have felt things that I never had before. I’ve felt like they treated me in a way that I didn’t expect, not in the way that was spoken of when they signed me. We’ve had a lot of talks and we’ll talk about my future because the role I’ve had this season is not for me, nor is it the one I expected to play when I came here. I’m not comfortable.”

“I’ve been through a difficult time, the worst in my career. I don’t want that again, there’s been many times when I’ve felt lost, I wasn’t sure what to do. I felt like I didn’t know where I belonged.”

” I need the club to tell me what is going to happen and what sort of role I will have within the team, what my duties are… what the club expects of me. And then judge whether it is worth it.”

If I could sum up this statement in one word, it would be contradictory. At Liverpool, not only was Torres a certain starter in the first eleven week in week out, providing he was fit, he was also the idol of millions of Liverpool fans. But this wasn’t good enough for him, he wanted more so he moved to Chelsea. Now at Chelsea, he hasn’t proved his worth and is not playing loads of football, but he has the medal he was looking for. Is anything good enough for the lad?

Not only is this contradictory, it’s also disrespectful. I’m by NO MEANS a fan of Chelsea FC or what they stand for, but to have one of their employees publicly question the way they work is just not on. In a regular job, if this kind of incident took place, I am sure there would be consequences. Personally, I think he needs to keep it zipped and save his energy for trying to justify his price tag. With the imminent departure of Didier Drogba in the summer, perhaps he will get a chance, but part of me wonders whether he regrets ever handing in that transfer request.

 

2 thoughts on “Torres: Less talk, more action?

  1. His career has taken a nosedive since he left LFC. Granted he has three more medals (FA Cup, CL and most recently the Euro) but he did not really play a major or even significant role in any of those cup runs. He must have nightmares about getting his transfer to “a bigger club”. Still not used to seeing him in blue but for all the joy he gave us while being a Liverpool player, I honestly wish him all the best for the future and hope he does indeed become the main man at Chelsea (especially considering Drogba’s departure).

Please Leave a Reply

