Personal Opinion

Is there anything more DEPRESSING than Eastenders?

For years and years Eastenders dominated The British Soap Awards, winning the majority of awards on offer, including the highly coveted ‘Soap of the Year’ award.

In 2013, Eastenders failed to win any award, other than the Lifetime Achievement Award, which was won by Adam Woodyatt (Ian Beale).

During those glory years in the 90’s and 00’s, I was a big fan of Eastenders, and would certainly have chosen to watch it over any other programme.

I cannot bear to watch the tragic television programme any longer.
I can’t pretend that in the past Eastenders was ever particularly cheerful, and Albert Square never really seemed like the happiest place to live, but I can’t help but feel that the square has transformed itself into a pit of depression – every character, every storyline, every setting is completely and utterly MISERABLE.

I despise almost every character.

Take Sharon Rickman for example- I thought we’d got rid of her years ago, but no, she’s back with a kid who looks like the Happy Shopper logo. Then there’s Shirley Carter the abominable battleaxe; Lauren Branning the screeching alcoholic banshee; Lucy Beale with a face like a slapped arse; Fatboy who has the inability to speak proper English and instead communicates in awfully embarrassing “street” lingo; Whitney Dean who looks like she needs a good scrub; Kat and Alfie Moon who are together and apart more than an automatic door, with unbearable screaming matches and gaudy outfits in between (two more characters who should have stayed away) – the list is absolutely endless.

Only one character exists who I can bear: Kim Fox. Although admittedly sometimes irritating, Kim’s comedy is the saving grace for the soap, and she is wasted on the square. Full marks for whichever writer introduced her to the show.

Then there are the storylines.
I can’t pretend to be an expert on the recent storylines as the show has irritated me so much I can’t bear to watch it, and only do so when forced to by family.
There was a storyline involving BIANCA BUTCHER‘s (I have to write it in capitals as all she does is yell and scream) son Liam, who became involved with some kind of gang.
Here was what I assume to be Eastenders’ attempt at making itself “cool” and relevant, as it involved a number of little gangsters running round with stupid accents and completely embarrassing phrases. It made my skin crawl to watch five minutes of it.

It’s a shame really as Eastenders has been around for a while now, and I’m betting that it was a big part of many family evenings, not just my own.

It’s a shame to see it go down the toilet, as the Soap Awards this year tell me that a lot of people may feel the same as I do.

 

2 thoughts on “Is there anything more DEPRESSING than Eastenders?

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you. I feel EXACTLY the same way. I can’t even have it on in the background as noise anymore as all the screaming and crying is just too much. Well said !

Please Leave a Reply

